Ghana

Interesting thoughts. Call me idealistic, but I chose to ride more on the wave of optimism than pessimism. But then again, what do we know? I am increasingly becoming skeptical of everything I hear, read, see and all I have believed and perhaps still do believe about my country, Ghana. Doesn’t the African proverbial saying go something like “Until the lion learns to tell his story, the hunter will always be glorified?” I think in our case, we only hear the story from civilians, or from government officials. Never from someone who has a civilian heart but has walked in corridors of power to tell us the truth. I am yearning for balance now more than ever. Tell us the truth. So the real question is: what do we know? I am increasingly becoming skeptical of everything I hear, read, see and all I have believed and perhaps still do believe about Ghana. Don’t get me wrong. These frustrations deeply resonate with me but I wish the truth was readily accessible – Why is corruption so rampant? What exactly is government doing? What power do we civilians have? Is the president truly and sincerely for a Better Ghana agenda? Who are the politicians truly fighting for justice and doing their jobs well? What strides have been made? What are our true state of affairs? What do government officials regard as beyond their power/impossible to achieve? What is the true reality? I feel like we all only know half-truths, and so I can air my frustrations all day everyday but the question still lingers – What exactly is going on?!

I have been back at home for only a couple of weeks, and interacting with so many different people as well as experiencing the incessant outages of water and power supply, and the lack of systems at airports, toll booths, roads, etc. and of course, my primary reactions are FRUSTRATION, ANGER, a slew of insults at a corrupt government, until I put my rational cap back on and ask the critical questions: What is being done? What can I do? What exactly is the problem? What power do I personally have as a civilian, to effect change?

I do not know if there are answers to all these questions. I do not have them, but I do think they are worth mulling over.

I call this a great read because it has elicited a lot of questions.

Ecclektic Ghana

image

I’m tired. I’ve been oscillating between apathy and the kind of anger that makes my chest feel tight, that makes my voice tremble when I shout. Sometimes I’m despondent; the silver lining on Ghanaian clouds is the first flash of a lightning bolt, watch out for that, it’ll get ya. Sometimes I’m hopeful; it’s still better here (for me) than elsewhere (and I don’t mean the places with war and strife, I mean the UK and the US). Sometimes I pray. I’m Christian but I never understood why people prayed for their country till now. God gave us free will and a country runs on the amalgamation of that free will. So sure, I’d pray that I wouldn’t do something stupid with my own free will but praying for the country sounded like an infringement. If people chose to drive like maniacs, vote like lemmings and lead like pirates then…

View original post 959 more words

Comment

